Tuesday, December 15, 2009

50th Physical (theoretically)

Today I had what should have been my 50th physical, although I know there were years in my twenties and thirties that I forgot.  It was quick--in and out in an hour!  Had EKG, BP (100/70), urine test, and 3 vials of blood taken--on the FIRST stick!  Only a REAL pro can get me on the first stick, unless they know they can't do it and take my offer to use my hands instead of my arm.  Everything looks good, so far.  So, this was a good start to a good day. :)

While at the doc's this morning, I told her my concerns about my brother, who is showing signs of dementia at 58.  I also mentioned that they should have a handout or brochure for people over 40, that tells what are "NORMAL"  signs of aging and what might be considered worth a doctor visit.  Now that my brother is showing these signs, I get a little freaked out when I forget things (which is pretty regular).  And what about the pain in my hip when I walk a lot?  OR the pain in my shoulders and elbows?  But, mostly, the forgetting puts me in a bit of a panic.  One day, while having lunch with a friend, we were talking about another friend (not maliciously!) and the waitress came and refilled our water.  With just THAT small distraction, I responded, "Who?" when my friend asked me a question about the mutual friend.  My mind was TOTALLY blank and until she said the friend's name, I just was blank.  Now granted, I'd had an asthma treatment that morning, but I don't remember it ever making me THAT spacey before.  It STILL scares me when I think of that moment, because I've never been so easily lost with such a small distraction.  The doc gave me a mini Mental Status Exam (MSE) and I passed with flying colors--too bad I can't remember all the questions they asked or I'd use it on my Brother. :)

My Brother (I will refer to his as DB).  That might be a subject for a whole new post, but the doc did give me a lead for health care for him.  He has no insurance, no income and is unable to work.  We are in the process of trying to get SSD for him.  But, there is a clinic in Pontiac that he may be eligible for.  The problem has been that he has no MONEY to get the tests needed for a clear diagnosis, so the chances of SSD go down if he doesn't have a diagnosis.  SSD sent a letter saying he qualifies, income wise, but then sent 2 forms to be signed and returned in order to qualify him, medically.  I thought we'd done that all online, to save the paperwork.  Bureaucracy rears its ugly head, again. 

No comments:

Post a Comment