Today I had what should have been my 50th physical, although I know there were years in my twenties and thirties that I forgot. It was quick--in and out in an hour! Had EKG, BP (100/70), urine test, and 3 vials of blood taken--on the FIRST stick! Only a REAL pro can get me on the first stick, unless they know they can't do it and take my offer to use my hands instead of my arm. Everything looks good, so far. So, this was a good start to a good day. :)
While at the doc's this morning, I told her my concerns about my brother, who is showing signs of dementia at 58. I also mentioned that they should have a handout or brochure for people over 40, that tells what are "NORMAL" signs of aging and what might be considered worth a doctor visit. Now that my brother is showing these signs, I get a little freaked out when I forget things (which is pretty regular). And what about the pain in my hip when I walk a lot? OR the pain in my shoulders and elbows? But, mostly, the forgetting puts me in a bit of a panic. One day, while having lunch with a friend, we were talking about another friend (not maliciously!) and the waitress came and refilled our water. With just THAT small distraction, I responded, "Who?" when my friend asked me a question about the mutual friend. My mind was TOTALLY blank and until she said the friend's name, I just was blank. Now granted, I'd had an asthma treatment that morning, but I don't remember it ever making me THAT spacey before. It STILL scares me when I think of that moment, because I've never been so easily lost with such a small distraction. The doc gave me a mini Mental Status Exam (MSE) and I passed with flying colors--too bad I can't remember all the questions they asked or I'd use it on my Brother. :)
My Brother (I will refer to his as DB). That might be a subject for a whole new post, but the doc did give me a lead for health care for him. He has no insurance, no income and is unable to work. We are in the process of trying to get SSD for him. But, there is a clinic in Pontiac that he may be eligible for. The problem has been that he has no MONEY to get the tests needed for a clear diagnosis, so the chances of SSD go down if he doesn't have a diagnosis. SSD sent a letter saying he qualifies, income wise, but then sent 2 forms to be signed and returned in order to qualify him, medically. I thought we'd done that all online, to save the paperwork. Bureaucracy rears its ugly head, again.
Tuesday, December 15, 2009
Monday, December 14, 2009
Holiday Decorating is Done!
I am so happy to have the tree decorated, the nutcrackers out and a few other decorations and lights are up and I consider the house the decorating finished. Son3 opened all the ornaments, while I decorated. (Actually VOLUNTEERED! :) ) Only half the boxes are back in the attic, though. That is the last thing BEFORE actually "cleaning" the house. You know--dusting, vacuuming, mopping, take place. HA!
Only 4 more days until school is finished for break so DH will be home for 2 weeks--sort of--works security for Ford Field, so will be gone a couple of days.
Received my nephew's Xmas present today (ordered online)--he wanted the Lego "Mr. Freeze"-- over 20 bucks and it all fit in a small bead bag! And THIS was a DEAL!! Now I have to figure out how to put it together to make sure I have all the parts. I am spatially challenged, so I think this is a DH project.
Fasting for 12 hours for annual physical, tomorrow. Actually, I have 3 minutes before I have to "officially" start. :)
Still can't get myself "up" for Christmas. Another friend made me realize that since Son1 died, I have not had the same passion for holidays. Each year, I go through the motions and each year, the motions are less and less. I thought it was due to aging. :)
Otherwise, life by the beach is good--even though the water was ALMOST frozen. Maybe next week.
Sunday, December 13, 2009
First Entry
I have another blog about Autism, because that is what I do, professionally. However, I have wanted to do something more personal than Facebook.
Right now, I am drinking a Chai Latte, waiting til I have to leave for a doc appt., ( I believe I have a sinus infection) and contemplating my Christmas tree.
Our deal is: Hubby and Son3 bring down all the boxes and set up the tree and put on lights. When Xmas is over, hubby takes tree down and I gather up other decorations around the house. Well, LAST year, my DH must have thought we were going to move a thousand miles or something--he wrapped many ornaments in bubble wrap and then TAPED them. So now, I am trying to decorate and struggle to untape these ornaments without breaking some. (He did put some that wouldn't even break, i.e. wooden or plastic in the same type of wrapping). Now this man has a Master's Degree + 30 grad credits. The boxes are only going up one flight of stairs, into the attic, where they will not be TOUCHED for a year. So, what was he thinking????
One of my older ornaments was wrapped so tight, it was broke. :( I am the type who has a remembrance for nearly every ornament on the tree: either the person who gave it to me or the event/trip it from whence it came, so this was sad for me. After taking 15 minutes just to get 5 ornaments up, I decided to start this blog.
Son3 came home and couldn't stand my complaining about having to cut open my decorations (thus cutting on or two of the loops that hold them up), so he just took the scissors and removed all the wrapping, while I put the ornaments up. How sweet was that? Didn't even have to ask. So now, I just need to add the finishing touches and it will be done.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)